Breathe. Yoga By Amy

One to One Yoga Instruction in Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

Journey Into Ashtanga Yoga

There is a beauty in trying different yoga styles.

Recently, I signed up for a specialized class series on Ashtanga Yoga for intermediate yogis. And it was difficult. Really difficult.

Taught by Melissa Perret, the level of body awareness, focus on breathe and endurance required was intense. And wonderful. Never have I delved into my hips and binds more.

However, the most rewarding aspect is the flow as a moving meditation. With that much focus on prescribed movement and breath, ones attention can rarely wander to what’s for dinner or the near infinite directions the mind can take.

Ashtanga Yoga is a prescribed series of poses created by Pattabhi Jois based on Krishnamachrya teachings. The class flow is generally taught as 5 Sun Salutation As, 5 Sun Salutation Bs, a standing series and a closing series. There are three levels of practice: primary, intermediate and advanced.

What we generally practice is the primary series.

Primary Series

I’m looking forward to the rest of the classes.

Leave a Reply